A Show For Your Weekend: Charlie Brown Christmas

via Phish.com - Phish, Spring 1992

Whether you are flying or driving to your Christmas destination this year, here is a show that should keep you and yours entertained during the trip. On April 18, 1992, Phish played a free show at Wilbur Field at Stanford. Because of the hot day, regular “squirt gun breaks” were used to cool down the audience. The show includes a Manteca bust out, all sorts of teases, and secret language.

Set 1: Wilson > The Divided Sky, Guelah Papyrus, Poor Heart, Split Open and Melt, Esther, Possum, It’s Ice > Sparkle, All Things Reconsidered, Run Like an Antelope

Set 2: Glide, The Oh Kee Pa Ceremony > Suzy Greenberg, Rift, Manteca, Bathtub Gin, Manteca Reprise, The Lizards, Mound, Llama, The Man Who Stepped Into Yesterday > Avenu Malkenu > The Man Who Stepped Into Yesterday, Dinner and a Movie, Harry Hood, Cold as Ice > Love You > Cold as Ice, Rocky Top

Encore: Contact, Big Black Furry Creature from Mars

The most notable teases were the Happy Passover bass solo from Mike during Avenu Malkenu, the Frère Jacques teases in Antelope, and the Linus and Lucy (from Charlie Brown Christmas) jam during Harry Hood.

This show featured a non-stop second set filled with high energy–most apparent in the blazing Llama, boisterous Suzy, and impressive Harry Hood. The encore, Contact and BBFCFM, featured seven year old Cameron McKinney on ukulele. McKinney also was allowed to do the “countdown” during BBFCFM.

>>>DOWNLOAD (Soundboard)

Since we are, somewhat, on the topic of Charlie Brown Christmas, I’d like to point out that this is my favorite Christmas album of all time. The album features the now-classic versions of favorite yuletide songs that are used in the famous Charlie Brown Christmas television cartoon. The 60’s album is by the Vince Guaraldi Trio–the popular, piano driven, jazz group. Not only does this album bring back fond memories of Christmas to me, it also is boasts a very impressive collection of unique takes on all your holiday favorites. For anyone that is as big of a fan of Christmas music as I am, this album is a must in your collection. It is available for download here on iTunes.

Track Listing:

  1. O Tannenbaum
  2. What Child is This?
  3. My Little Drum
  4. Linus and Lucy
  5. Christmas Time is Here (Instrumental)
  6. Christmast Time is Here (Vocal)
  7. Skating
  8. Hark! The Herald Angels Sing
  9. Christmas is Coming
  10. Für Elise
  11. The Cristmas Song
  12. Greensleeves

From everyone at OPT; have a wonderful and very merry Christmas this year. We hope that you all have safe and memorable times with the closest of your family and friends. Thank you so much for reading our site.

Be sure to check back Monday if you are in need of a Video Pick-Me-Up at work in the morning.